Mickey Rourke Snubbed By The Academy

rourke1_wideweb__470x3210I don’t think this is really a big surprise, but the Academy has once again given the best actor award to push an agenda (and to think otherwise would be pretty ignorant). Sure, Harvey Milk, as a figure, meant a lot for the gay rights movement, but really? Sean Penn for best actor? You ask the average movie-going populous (who keeps up with film), and everyone thought Mickey Rourke was a shoe-in for best actor. The leathery-faced warrior deserved the golden bald man for portraying himself Randy “The Ram” Robinson in The Wrestler. God help you if you don’t have the heart to route for Rourke’s comeback. A classic story (through both life and film): a fallen man, only to rise up again. The Wrestler couldn’t have come at a better time for Rourke. After years of flops, including cinema and a boxing “career”, you couldn’t help but route for him. It’s a shame the Academy couldn’t recognize the crowning acheivment of one of the best acting, and, well, human come-backs of all time. I guess that is the story of Rourke’s life though: “I don’t hear as good as I used to, and I ain’t as pretty as I used to be. But I’m still here – I’m the Ram.”

Now, if they only gave Oscars for performances instead of pushing a cause.

-Ant

2 responses to “Mickey Rourke Snubbed By The Academy

  1. Amen, brother.

  2. I thought Micky Rourke did an outstanding job playing the Wrestler and I never watch wrestling.

Leave a Reply

