Ben Folds’ New Album In Early ’09…

Hot on the heels of his new album, Way To Normal, just being released, Ben Folds just announced he has plans for another new album in early Spring of ’09. Although, this album will be quite different, it will be compiled from various A Capella groups covering past Ben Folds songs.

Taken from his website:

“I’m making an album of A Capella versions of my music to be performed by the best university groups we can find. This idea was motivated by a number of amazing university a Capella versions of my songs I came across on youtube … I was moved and inspired. Some of these versions were an improvement in my humble opinion and it would be a great opportunity to capture some of this. I’d like to assemble an album of 12-15 tracks. I just need submissions.”

Some of these videos are incredible versions of his songs. Adding more melodrama to Ben Folds is quite a feat. This could be an amazing album when he gets these A Capella groups into the studio. I leave you with a version of “Bitches Ain’t Shit” that will most likely should be featured on the album.

– Ant

Leave a Reply

